Welcome! Please Login or Register!
July 08, 2020, 03:44:31 PM
Home Login Register
pftq Forums  |  Game Design  |  Age of Empires III  |  Fort Wars  |  Fort Wars Source Code 0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic. « previous next »
Latest News!VR Jetpack Game Trailer and Music(Jul 29, 2019)
Pages: [1] Print
Author Topic: Fort Wars Source Code  (Read 8826 times)
pftq
Administrator
*****
Offline Offline



Posts: 4126

WWW
« on: February 15, 2008, 08:03:41 AM »

For those curious, I've posted up the Fort Wars source code.  Due to up to almost years' work updating and even rewriting from scratch several times, this is as much as I will ever show of it.

Due to the fact that you can still copy somewhat (by manually typing the code), you will have to login to see it and if you wish to see it - also let me know so I can give your account the appropriate permissions.  Those able to see it, I trust you will not share the code. Undecided

Fort Wars Source pt1
Fort Wars Source pt2

Due to the length of the code (requiring to 4MB PDFs with nothing but text), you will see nothing but a blank page for some time; just let it load.

If you have questions about the working of the script, feel free to ask.  That is the sole purpose of me posting this script. Smiley
« Last Edit: February 15, 2008, 08:10:01 AM by pftq » Logged
ducdepuce2
Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 21

« Reply #1 on: March 02, 2008, 09:09:27 AM »

I'm just wondering... Why wont it let me see the code? It says I am not allowed......
Logged
pftq
Administrator
*****
Offline Offline



Posts: 4126

WWW
« Reply #2 on: March 02, 2008, 09:41:22 AM »

Quote
Due to the fact that you can still copy somewhat (by manually typing the code), you will have to login to see it and if you wish to see it - also let me know so I can give your account the appropriate permissions.  Those able to see it, I trust you will not share the code.

Did you want to see it? Or it doesn't matter?
Logged
ducdepuce2
Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 21

« Reply #3 on: March 16, 2008, 09:27:55 AM »

I very much want to see it...
Logged
pftq
Administrator
*****
Offline Offline



Posts: 4126

WWW
« Reply #4 on: March 17, 2008, 12:22:05 PM »

k done.  Takes a bit to load though so give it some time.
Logged
mikietom
Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 8

« Reply #5 on: April 08, 2008, 12:31:54 AM »

any chance i can have a look at this code
Logged
pftq
Administrator
*****
Offline Offline



Posts: 4126

WWW
« Reply #6 on: April 08, 2008, 06:24:04 PM »

Done - enjoy.
Logged
ducdepuce2
Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 21

« Reply #7 on: May 28, 2008, 09:04:12 AM »

I don't mind if you say know, but I was wondering if somehow I could use the part of the code in which it spawns units by moving that unit to a place. I know this is an impossible request, and I completely understand after the "Kirby" incident that you probably will refuse... But I was thinking of creating a map, "sea wars" if you will, and it would really be useful... Thanks.
Logged
pftq
Administrator
*****
Offline Offline



Posts: 4126

WWW
« Reply #8 on: May 28, 2008, 09:17:01 AM »

The thing about Fort Wars is that everything is linked together - you really can't take out a chunk and expect it to work...
Logged
ducdepuce2
Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 21

« Reply #9 on: May 29, 2008, 06:02:35 AM »

Well, thats pretty interesting actually, must be pretty dang difficult to make changes then.. eh?
Logged
River_God
Member
*****
Offline Offline



Posts: 189

« Reply #10 on: May 29, 2008, 12:43:24 PM »

But what we can do is tell you the trigger combinations used to do the same thing. I believe it is a combination of some kind of units in area trigger plus an army create or something. Actually if you check out some of the scenarios (a good colloseum for example) they will have a similar trigger set.
Logged

"I am not sure why people are so afraid of new ideas, I am afraid of the old ones"   :p
ducdepuce2
Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 21

« Reply #11 on: May 29, 2008, 02:44:07 PM »

Could ya? It would be a huge help  Grin.
Logged
DylanLynn
Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 15

« Reply #12 on: September 03, 2009, 04:35:26 AM »

wish i could see it i am learning how 2 make custom maps lol
Logged
Killerdeat
Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1

« Reply #13 on: September 05, 2010, 02:44:50 PM »

Could you open this up to me? I'm trying to get Fort Wars to SC2 as near copy as possible and knowing the code would be incredibly helpful =D (Upgrades and such =P)
Logged
pftq
Administrator
*****
Offline Offline



Posts: 4126

WWW
« Reply #14 on: September 06, 2010, 10:30:09 PM »

Not sure it would actually help (code changes between games) but it's done.
Logged
Pages: [1] Print 
pftq Forums  |  Game Design  |  Age of Empires III  |  Fort Wars  |  Fort Wars Source Code « previous next »
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2006-2007, Simple Machines | RSS Feed Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.65 seconds with 22 queries.