Welcome! Please Login or Register!
July 03, 2020, 11:35:39 PM
Home Login Register
pftq Forums  |  Software and Scripts  |  Jeopardy / Gameshow Maker  |  Gameshow Maker - Discussion, Help, and Feedback 0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic. « previous next »
Latest News!VR Jetpack Game Trailer and Music(Jul 29, 2019)
Pages: 1 ... 6 7 [8] 9 10 ... 14 Print
Author Topic: Gameshow Maker - Discussion, Help, and Feedback  (Read 102572 times)
pftq
Administrator
*****
Offline Offline



Posts: 4126

WWW
« Reply #105 on: November 25, 2012, 09:32:04 PM »

You'll have to use a font for phonetic characters like here:
http://www.fonts101.com/fonts/view/Uncategorized/52049/Phoneticalphabet

Then in your setup.ini file, find qasysfont and set it to true.  Then set qafont to the font you use for phonetic characters.

The text files will look like regular letters but once the program runs, it'll map to the font (similar to how typing with a regular keyboard but with a different font spits out different characters).  What you can do to figure out the mapping is open up an editor like MS Word and type the phonetics in the correct font before saving as a plain text file (the text file will contain regular letters which then map to the phonetics you typed in the other font).
Logged
nktvnvn
Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 5

« Reply #106 on: November 25, 2012, 10:10:32 PM »

Thanks a lot! I'll give it a try! Thanks again for the nice program.

 
Logged
digitalnordic
Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2

« Reply #107 on: November 29, 2012, 03:39:19 PM »

Can I change the word "Ready" before the final question?
Logged
pftq
Administrator
*****
Offline Offline



Posts: 4126

WWW
« Reply #108 on: December 02, 2012, 07:12:25 PM »

That is hardcoded into the game unfortunately.
Logged
PPH
Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1

« Reply #109 on: January 23, 2013, 10:07:56 AM »

Thanks very much for making this program. It is great. I am not familiar with html and am having a difficult time getting a picture of a face shield to load for question 2. Question 1 works fine. Here is what I have typed in.

 Who remains on scene 1hr after hot work has been completed? A:Fire watch  B:The Mole
<img src='FaceShield' />
Column 1, Question 3
Column 1, Question 4
Column 1, Question 5

I have the FaceShield image in the same directory as the Gameshow maker files. Any help would be much appreciated.

I am having a similar issue, looking to have an image show in place of a question when the button is selected. Could you clarify where the above information is being applied? Is it in the setup file (and if so where) or the question text files?

P.S. Great program, lovely resource.
Logged
pftq
Administrator
*****
Offline Offline



Posts: 4126

WWW
« Reply #110 on: January 23, 2013, 05:53:20 PM »

The question txt file.  Also make sure to include the extension of the filename.

Thanks and let me know if you have any other questions. Smiley
Logged
jenndpan
Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2

« Reply #111 on: February 04, 2013, 08:19:40 PM »

This is a fabulous program and very easy to use.  I did have a question. Is it possible, even though we're using text files, to include apostrophe's and quotation marks in our questions/answers?  They are not displaying correctly and I didn't know if there was a way to work around that?
Logged
jenndpan
Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2

« Reply #112 on: February 04, 2013, 08:33:03 PM »

Nevermind, I had copied and pasted from a Pages file and that's why is was wonky. I just re-added the quotations and apostrophes within the .txt files and it worked perfectly.

Thanks for a great program!
Logged
pftq
Administrator
*****
Offline Offline



Posts: 4126

WWW
« Reply #113 on: February 04, 2013, 08:36:03 PM »

Glad it worked out - thanks for the update!
Logged
JDNece
Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2

« Reply #114 on: March 03, 2013, 09:14:45 PM »

Loving the program.  I have it almost setup.  I am curious though about something.

  musicloop=false // Start looping song after intro? true/false
  musicloop_return=false // Repeat looping song after questions? true/false

When I set the above both to false it will not play mloop.mp3 at all.  When I set the first one to true it will loop it.  Is this an issue with how I have it written or is this what I am telling it to do?

I was hoping to just have it play once rather than be on a loop at the start of the game.  Even with it on flase it continues to loop.  I was considering loading a file a minute of silence after the protion I wanted to play but thought there may be something I was doing wrong.

Any thoughts?

Thanks in advance.
Logged
pftq
Administrator
*****
Offline Offline



Posts: 4126

WWW
« Reply #115 on: March 03, 2013, 10:23:29 PM »

The settings mean this:
1. Play the song on the first time you see the question selection.
2. Whether or not to continue playing/looping the song when you return to the question board from answering later.
Logged
tclaremont
Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2

« Reply #116 on: May 01, 2013, 09:51:47 AM »

Hello, hopefully an easy question! I have the program running, but it does not seem to read the setup.ini file. It always says Categories.txt is missing. If I move the text files from the questions folder up to the root level, it DOES load the questions, but the game loads all the sprites in addition to the category names, even though I have removed everything after "sprites=". The game works fine when I run the SWF file directly, but not via a web connection. I have allowscriptaccess set to "always". File permissions are set correctly. I have tried both GameShowMaker and JeopardyMaker with the same results and symptoms. I am running Flash 11. Windows environment. IIS Web Server under my full control. Any ideas?
« Last Edit: May 01, 2013, 10:26:11 AM by tclaremont » Logged
pftq
Administrator
*****
Offline Offline



Posts: 4126

WWW
« Reply #117 on: May 06, 2013, 08:11:53 PM »

I'm guessing the HTML page is not in the same folder.  Flash has this weird set up where everything is relative to the HTML page instead of the swf.  Try working around that.
Logged
Bruce
Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 9

« Reply #118 on: May 06, 2013, 08:52:34 PM »

I must admit that when you say to work around the HTML page, you have me at a complete loss. Can you explain it a bit more? Sorry if I'm becoming a bother as that is not my intent.

BTW, the timer is now showing up correctly.
               
« Last Edit: May 06, 2013, 09:41:00 PM by pftq » Logged
pftq
Administrator
*****
Offline Offline



Posts: 4126

WWW
« Reply #119 on: May 06, 2013, 09:42:35 PM »

That was directed at tdclaremont, sorry.
Logged
Pages: 1 ... 6 7 [8] 9 10 ... 14 Print 
pftq Forums  |  Software and Scripts  |  Jeopardy / Gameshow Maker  |  Gameshow Maker - Discussion, Help, and Feedback « previous next »
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2006-2007, Simple Machines | RSS Feed Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.364 seconds with 21 queries.