pftq.com
Welcome! Please Login or Register!
December 01, 2020, 10:26:38 PM
Home Login Register
pftq Forums  |  Game Design  |  Age of Empires III  |  Castle Blood  |  Scripting Questions 0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic. « previous next »
Latest News!Three Tiers as a Book(Oct 16, 2020)
Pages: 1 2 [3] 4 Print
Author Topic: Scripting Questions  (Read 15033 times)
ShadowRyder
Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 31

« Reply #30 on: May 14, 2008, 04:08:27 PM »

I found that It wasant that much of a gap when I aged with the wonder.

I got the reward 10 sec later so as long as wonder is destroyed after completiopn it will be fine
Logged
River_God
Member
*****
Offline Offline



Posts: 189

« Reply #31 on: May 14, 2008, 06:55:01 PM »

For you maybe, but for those who aren't any good, it would be a significant advantage to be able to age and upgrade units faster.
Logged

"I am not sure why people are so afraid of new ideas, I am afraid of the old ones"   :p
pftq
Administrator
*****
Offline Offline



Posts: 4140

WWW
« Reply #32 on: May 15, 2008, 02:47:05 PM »

The wonders can be destroyed before they are built - as soon as they are placed, they can be converted into something like a rock (so disappears).
Logged
ShadowRyder
Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 31

« Reply #33 on: May 15, 2008, 02:51:18 PM »

convert it into something that men can move around or theyn wil. make a wall of rocks.
Logged
pftq
Administrator
*****
Offline Offline



Posts: 4140

WWW
« Reply #34 on: May 16, 2008, 05:49:16 AM »

... that can be stepped over.  Or are invisible.  You can use grass as well.  The point is to make it something that is pretty much nothing in the game.
Logged
ShadowRyder
Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 31

« Reply #35 on: May 16, 2008, 02:01:25 PM »

soz I was thinking of big rocks lol
Logged
River_God
Member
*****
Offline Offline



Posts: 189

« Reply #36 on: May 19, 2008, 07:49:18 AM »

lol, a grass fire to remind them of their stupidity.
Logged

"I am not sure why people are so afraid of new ideas, I am afraid of the old ones"   :p
ShadowRyder
Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 31

« Reply #37 on: May 19, 2008, 01:55:43 PM »

lol good idea
Logged
River_God
Member
*****
Offline Offline



Posts: 189

« Reply #38 on: September 09, 2008, 05:48:40 PM »

Ok, I am back from my summer job in the middle of nowhere and I am settled down in res so I am back to scripting.

My question is, for a for(){} loop, it is usually for(i=1; <=X){} where whatever is in {} happens X amount of times, with i going up by 1 until it reaches X. Is there a way I can make i go up by 10, or by 0.5?
Logged

"I am not sure why people are so afraid of new ideas, I am afraid of the old ones"   :p
pftq
Administrator
*****
Offline Offline



Posts: 4140

WWW
« Reply #39 on: September 11, 2008, 04:12:45 PM »

In a more standard programming language, it'd be:

for(i=1;i<=X;i+=#) where X is num. times and # is increment.

You can try that and see if it works.  Otherwise just have another variable in the loop that is a multiple of i.
Logged
River_God
Member
*****
Offline Offline



Posts: 189

« Reply #40 on: September 19, 2008, 03:27:57 PM »

Thanks, I did pretty much the same thing.

Ok this question is a little specific to AoE3. When you made Fort Wars, you had coin income for kills. I am trying to do something similar, but have so far only been able to make it so that there is around 1000 coin markers (so every 10 kills gives 10 coin) but this makes 1000 active triggers per player! I was wondering how you did it.
Logged

"I am not sure why people are so afraid of new ideas, I am afraid of the old ones"   :p
pftq
Administrator
*****
Offline Offline



Posts: 4140

WWW
« Reply #41 on: September 19, 2008, 09:51:00 PM »

http://aom.heavengames.com/cgi-bin/forums/display.cgi?action=ct&f=13,20585,0,365

Killer Counter exact by yours truly.
Logged
River_God
Member
*****
Offline Offline



Posts: 189

« Reply #42 on: September 20, 2008, 12:47:32 PM »

ok something I am a little fuzzy on here, you Kill Setter is:

Trigger: Kill Setter
active, run immediately

Condition: QV Stat Value: P2's Enemies Killed => "Point", Value 1

Effect:
QV Set Stat Value "Kills"
Fire Kill Counter

but there is no trigger condition or effect that sets a QV to a stat value, that is where I was having trouble before, I would have to have a new trigger for every different value I wanted to transfer from stat value to a QV...
Logged

"I am not sure why people are so afraid of new ideas, I am afraid of the old ones"   :p
pftq
Administrator
*****
Offline Offline



Posts: 4140

WWW
« Reply #43 on: September 20, 2008, 01:59:51 PM »

You'd have to use XS to create the new effect.  QV to stat value is a custom effect.

I think I have a kill counter set up in the Castle Blood script already - you might want to just build your changes into that one (otherwise you'd have lag from multiple counters).
« Last Edit: September 20, 2008, 02:05:26 PM by pftq » Logged
River_God
Member
*****
Offline Offline



Posts: 189

« Reply #44 on: September 29, 2008, 07:33:00 PM »

Hey, thanks, but I instead (and because I left a bunch of my files on my old comp, got a new laptop) so instead I did a little research on custom effects, seems simple enough, I followed the steps according to the Age of Wiki, but I am having trouble saving the modified typetest file. My comp is telling me to "Make sure the path and file name are correct"  but I am simply replacing the typetest.xml file in there. Any suggestions?
Logged

"I am not sure why people are so afraid of new ideas, I am afraid of the old ones"   :p
Pages: 1 2 [3] 4 Print 
pftq Forums  |  Game Design  |  Age of Empires III  |  Castle Blood  |  Scripting Questions « previous next »
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2006-2007, Simple Machines | RSS Feed Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.087 seconds with 22 queries.