Welcome! Please Login or Register!
March 28, 2024, 02:04:33 AM
Home Login Register
pftq Forums  |  Game Design  |  Age of Empires III  |  How to enter a string into a trigger condition in a RMS 0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic. « previous next »
Latest News!Lunar Trigger(Aug 27, 2023)
Pages: [1] Print
Author Topic: How to enter a string into a trigger condition in a RMS  (Read 4386 times)
Svenyarsh

« on: July 14, 2011, 04:36:36 AM »

Hi
This is my first time posting and this is probably a simple question, but google didn't help me find the answer, so your help would be much appreciated.

I am trying to make a cat and mouse RMS where the computer is the cat (one of these may already exist although I didn't find any) I want one of the trigger conditions to use a QV but the code brings up the debugger and the trigger doesn't appear when I load it in the scenario editor.

This is the line that brings up the debugger (when I remove it it loads fine):
rmSetTriggerConditionParamInt("Count", "trQuestVarGet(\"QVpopLimit\")");
If I replace "trQuestVarGet(\"QVpopLimit\")" with a number then it loads fine.

Also if I make a scenario with this in (without the back slashes and the outermost quotes) it all does what I would expect.

For context here is the rest of my code:

//Triggers

rmCreateTrigger("QVpopLimitSet");
rmSwitchToTrigger(rmTriggerID("QVpopLimitSet"));
rmAddTriggerEffect("Quest Var Set");
 rmSetTriggerEffectParam("QVName", "QVpopLimit");
 rmSetTriggerEffectParamInt("Value", 20);

//Create Troops
int maxUnits=5;
int myArmyID=0;

for(i=0; <maxUnits) {
myArmyID=rmCreateArmy(1,"myarmy"+i);

rmCreateTrigger("createTroops"+i);
rmSwitchToTrigger(rmTriggerID("createTroops"+i));
 rmSetTriggerLoop(true);

rmAddTriggerCondition("Army Is Dead");
  rmSetTriggerConditionParamArmy("SrcArmy", 1, myArmyID);
 rmAddTriggerCondition("XS - Player Population");
  rmSetTriggerConditionParamInt("PlayerID", 1);
  rmSetTriggerConditionParam("Op", "<");