Welcome! Please Login or Register!
April 25, 2024, 10:00:18 PM
Home Login Register
pftq Forums  |  Game Design  |  Age of Empires III  |  Need help creating a ?Flare Unit? Effect 0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic. « previous next »
Latest News!Lunar Trigger(Aug 27, 2023)
Pages: 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 Print
Author Topic: Need help creating a ?Flare Unit? Effect  (Read 27049 times)
Random22
Member
*****
Offline Offline



Posts: 33

WWW
« Reply #30 on: June 17, 2008, 09:49:15 AM »

What do you mean by 'Don't use VarTypes'...


HuhHuhHuh,
Random22
Logged

-Random22^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^
Thats Right More Random22 Signature Wink
pftq
Administrator
*****
Offline Offline



Posts: 4198

WWW
« Reply #31 on: June 17, 2008, 10:43:22 AM »

Quote me - I don't know what you're refering to.
Logged
Random22
Member
*****
Offline Offline



Posts: 33

WWW
« Reply #32 on: June 17, 2008, 10:46:15 AM »

Yes - do not use variables.  Otherwise the trigger can only be used once (because you can't declare variables multiple times).
Use QV or just type it out for each player.  Also you're missing a ';'
This
Logged

-Random22^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^
Thats Right More Random22 Signature Wink
pftq
Administrator
*****
Offline Offline



Posts: 4198

WWW
« Reply #33 on: June 17, 2008, 12:53:47 PM »

Don't use variables.  In your case, you tried to create a variable i.
Logged
Random22
Member
*****
Offline Offline



Posts: 33

WWW
« Reply #34 on: June 17, 2008, 01:21:26 PM »

Again HUH
Where is it  Huh

  Tongue Random22  Tongue
« Last Edit: June 17, 2008, 01:23:13 PM by Random22 » Logged

-Random22^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^
Thats Right More Random22 Signature Wink
MosheLevi
Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 28

« Reply #35 on: June 17, 2008, 02:01:04 PM »

Random22,

You have a variable here (the ?i?):
Quote
<Command>for(i=1>Cool{<command>

Wow, you guys were busy and that ?Flare Unit? trigger looks amazing Pftq.
Thank you for your help Pftq and for your help too Random22.

All these commands in the trigger, is that C++ or some variation of it.
Where can I find literature about it so I can learn the commands and the syntax?

Do you know if Blizzard is using the same trigger syntax for War Craft III?

I have a question about the ?Flare Unit? trigger.

Quote
<Param name="Object" dispName="Center Unit" varType="unit">default</Param>
      <Param name="Dst" dispName="Radius" varType="string">10.0</Param>
      <Param name="UnitId" dispName="Unit Type ID (Optional)" varType="string">-1</Param>
      <Param name="FromPlayer" dispName="From Player or 99 for ALL" varType="string">99</Param>
      <Param name="ForPlayer" dispName="Flare Player or 99 for ALL" varType="string">99</Param>

I am assuming that ?From Player? is referring to the unit type belonging to a certain player or to all players, am I right?
Can I use 0 (zero) for Gaia player?

I am also assuming that ?For Player? is referring to the player number that we are issuing the flare for, right?

I have a 520 X 520 map.
What should be the radios if I want this effect to work for the entire map and my center unit is in the center of the map?
Is it going to be 260 radios? Is that how it works?

That is the longest trigger I have ever seen, lol.

Great job guys.
« Last Edit: June 17, 2008, 02:04:47 PM by MosheLevi » Logged
Random22
Member
*****
Offline Offline



Posts: 33

WWW
« Reply #36 on: June 17, 2008, 02:17:52 PM »

Any time Moshe,

The Flare units in area workes for gaia with 99 (I think)

But after looking at it it will. And I made a Make units in Area Invulerable. Ive had cases where I needed that Tongue

Almost Every...AnyTime,
Quote
Shocked Random22 Lips Sealed
Logged

-Random22^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^
Thats Right More Random22 Signature Wink
MosheLevi
Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 28

« Reply #37 on: June 17, 2008, 02:37:35 PM »

Quote
The Flare units in area workes for gaia with 99 (I think)

99 is for all players.
Doesn't it work with 0 (zero)?


- Is there a way to know if a player Resigned?
The game should set the player as ?Player Defeated? but it's not.

- Can we take the "Flare Unit Type in Area" effect and use that method to create an effect that Changes Unit Type in area when One Unit Type is at a certain distance from another Unit Type?
That should work for multiple cases just like the flare unit type can flare 20 units at once.

« Last Edit: June 17, 2008, 02:42:02 PM by MosheLevi » Logged
Random22
Member
*****
Offline Offline



Posts: 33

WWW
« Reply #38 on: June 17, 2008, 03:52:31 PM »

Look at the code...

Code:
<Command>if(%FromPlayer%==99) {</Command>
<Command>trQuestVarSet("blarg",0);</Command>
<Command>trQuestVarSet("vroom",12);</Command>
<Command>}</Command>
<Command>trQuestVarSet("i",trQuestVarGet("blarg"));</Command>
<Command>while(trQuestVarGet("vroom")>=trQuestVarGet("i")) {</Command>

 Cheesy Random22 Cheesy
Logged

-Random22^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^
Thats Right More Random22 Signature Wink
pftq
Administrator
*****
Offline Offline



Posts: 4198

WWW
« Reply #39 on: June 17, 2008, 04:45:03 PM »

Moshe - all your guesses are right.  And yes, Gaia works as 0.

The syntax is not really any language specific... Java, PHP, AS3, etc all use the same style of code.

The commands are just more trigger commands in AOE3. (like tr...)

Longest trigger as it may be for you, there are longer trigger codes in my Advanced Trigger Set. Tongue
Logged
Random22
Member
*****
Offline Offline



Posts: 33

WWW
« Reply #40 on: June 17, 2008, 05:27:52 PM »

pftq,
    Where do you get all the kb and ui and tr codes for AOE3??

HuhHuhHuhHuh,
Random22
Logged

-Random22^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^
Thats Right More Random22 Signature Wink
pftq
Administrator
*****
Offline Offline



Posts: 4198

WWW
« Reply #41 on: June 17, 2008, 06:05:28 PM »

Dig through the ES's trigger and random map files.
Logged
Random22
Member
*****
Offline Offline



Posts: 33

WWW
« Reply #42 on: June 17, 2008, 06:14:41 PM »

Lol,
I thought it would be like a link. Grin
Logged

-Random22^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^
Thats Right More Random22 Signature Wink
MosheLevi
Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 28

« Reply #43 on: June 18, 2008, 01:13:59 PM »

Is there a way to know if a player Resigned?
The game should set the player as "Player Defeated" but it's not.


- Can we take the "Flare Unit Type in Area" effect and use that method to create an effect that Changes Unit Type in area when One Unit Type is at a certain distance from another Unit Type?
That should work for multiple cases just like the flare unit type can flare 20 units at once.

For example, let say I want a Janissary and a Horse standing right next to each other to be converted to a Mameluke.
Currently I can do it with existing units, but I would like to have a Global effect that makes that conversion every time this condition occurs in the entire map without pre-selecting the units.

You can probably do it by re-using the "Flare Unit Type in Area" and taking it to the next step.



Logged
pftq
Administrator
*****
Offline Offline



Posts: 4198

WWW
« Reply #44 on: June 18, 2008, 02:27:28 PM »

Depending on how your scenario is set up, you'd have to develop a trick/system to determine whether the player is still active.  If the current "Player Defeated" does not work, you're unlikely to find another command for it.

Your second request is already do-able with existing triggers from the Advanced Triggers Set:

#1: QV Set Unit OBJECT ID in Area (Center Unit) to detect the Janissary and save the unit's ID (NOT unit type ID) to a QV
#2: XS - Units in Area and plug the QV ID in as the center unit.

so basically #1 finds your janissary and #2 uses the janissary as the center for Units in Area.
Logged
Pages: 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 Print 
pftq Forums  |  Game Design  |  Age of Empires III  |  Need help creating a ?Flare Unit? Effect « previous next »
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2006-2007, Simple Machines | RSS Feed Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.068 seconds with 21 queries.