Welcome! Please Login or Register!
September 28, 2020, 01:48:04 AM
Home Login Register
pftq Forums  |  Software and Scripts  |  Jeopardy / Gameshow Maker  |  Gameshow Maker - Discussion, Help, and Feedback 0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic. « previous next »
Latest News!VR Jetpack Game Trailer and Music(Jul 29, 2019)
Pages: 1 ... 12 13 [14] Print
Author Topic: Gameshow Maker - Discussion, Help, and Feedback  (Read 103845 times)
pftq
Administrator
*****
Offline Offline



Posts: 4132

WWW
« Reply #195 on: September 09, 2017, 06:34:27 PM »

Actually there is an example in the Gameshow Maker download already.  See column1-questions.txt attached.
The filename is relative to where the GameshowMaker file is.  So you can make a new folder called images next to the GameshowMaker file, and use:

<img src='images/your_image_filename.jpg' />

* column1-questions.txt (0.34 KB - downloaded 39 times.)
Logged
jericho138
Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2

« Reply #196 on: November 22, 2017, 06:50:42 PM »

Hi, I have a question. I'm running game show maker on PC, with the "tryout" preset that ove modified to my needs. My problem is, I can't get quotation marks or apostrophes to show up. Any advice?
Logged
pftq
Administrator
*****
Offline Offline



Posts: 4132

WWW
« Reply #197 on: November 22, 2017, 07:11:16 PM »

Make sure you're not copying the fancier quotes (the curly ones) from a
rich text editor like Word.  If you did, you can do a find and replace to
use the straight ones actually typed from keyboard.
Logged
jericho138
Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2

« Reply #198 on: December 24, 2017, 11:19:12 AM »

And that fixed it, thank you!
Logged
Big Bang
Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3

« Reply #199 on: February 23, 2018, 09:55:03 AM »

Hello! is there a way to edit the word 'daily double' into something else?
Logged
pftq
Administrator
*****
Offline Offline



Posts: 4132

WWW
« Reply #200 on: February 23, 2018, 10:05:48 AM »

Check the setup file - there should be a line bonust that sets that
phrase.  If you're seeing "Daily Double" you probably have the Jeopardy
preset loaded and should edit the jeopardy.txt file in the presets folder
Logged
Big Bang
Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3

« Reply #201 on: February 23, 2018, 10:23:40 AM »

where is the presets folder?
Logged
pftq
Administrator
*****
Offline Offline



Posts: 4132

WWW
« Reply #202 on: February 23, 2018, 10:24:58 AM »

It should be right next to the game executable.  You can redownload if you're missing the folder:
https://www.pftq.com/gameshowmaker/
Logged
Big Bang
Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3

« Reply #203 on: February 23, 2018, 10:27:30 AM »

Thanks for the quick response! Have a nice day.
Logged
nychard
Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1

« Reply #204 on: June 16, 2018, 11:58:52 AM »

Hi, first off, brilliant program, lots of hard work obviously has gone into it.

A couple of questions as a general wondering of sorts:

1. Would it be possible to edit the program in some programming-savvy way to add multiple choice answers that automatically tell you if it's right or wrong? (obviously I'm not coding-savvy at all, therefore apologies if I'm not expressing it all with the correct terminology)

2. Is it all possible to add an actual function to the side buttons? i.e. reveal hint to answer etc.?

Logged
pftq
Administrator
*****
Offline Offline



Posts: 4132

WWW
« Reply #205 on: June 16, 2018, 12:21:38 PM »

1. The game is designed for presentation/classroom use, so it's easier to
just have the moderator hit the right or wrong answer button.  It would add
a lot of complexity to have the program handle it.
2. Again, easier to have the moderator do this in person.
Logged
almost60
Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1

« Reply #206 on: April 29, 2020, 12:51:21 PM »

During the past few weeks of social distancing we have joined together online with family and friends several times to play your Jeopardy game.  It has been marvelous fun.  Thank you very much for developing and sharing it.

I'm having trouble trying to center images in the middle of the Jeopardy answer screen.  Sometimes they are centered and sometimes they are not.  There seems to be no pattern in when they go to the center.  Here is the text:

<img src='graphics/newhampshire.png'>
<img src='graphics/ontario.png'>
<img src='graphics/montana.png'>
<img src='graphics/utah.png'>
<img src='graphics/newjersey.png'>

The only pattern that seems consistent is if they do not center the first time and I go back and click on the same answer again they do center the second time around.

I have a similar problem trying to change the color of the text in an answer.  Sometime it reads the tags and sometimes it doesn't.  On occasions when it doesn't read the tag I sometimes see a quick flash of the intended color before it ends up white.  Here is a sample of the text:
  • What do you get when you kiss a guy?<BR>You get enough germs to catch pneumonia<BR>After you do, <FONT color="#ff0099">he'll never phone ya</FONT><BR><I>- I'll Never Fall In Love Again
    I'm too hot (hot damn)<BR>Called a police and a fireman<BR>I'm too hot (hot damn)<BR>Make a dragon <FONT color="#ff0099">wanna retire man</FONT><BR><I>- Uptown Funk
    Next year for sure, you'll see the world,<BR>you'll really get around<BR>But how far can you travel<BR><FONT color="#ff0099">when you're six feet underground?</FONT><BR><I>- Enjoy Yourself
    She wears high heels,<BR>I wear sneakers.<BR>She's cheer captain,<BR>And <FONT color="#ff0099">I'm on the bleachers.</FONT><BR><I>- You Belong With Me
    "Relax," said the night man<BR>"We are programmed to receive<BR>You can check-out any time you like<BR><FONT color="#ff0099">But you can never leave!"</FONT> <BR><I>- Hotel California

It also does not pick up the italic tag <I> in the text.

Also a suggestion/question.  Is there some way the quizmaster could pick the locations for a Daily Double instead of having them random?
Logged
pftq
Administrator
*****
Offline Offline



Posts: 4132

WWW
« Reply #207 on: May 01, 2020, 01:22:44 PM »

Centering unfortunately is not implemented in the Flash HTML functionality.  I would try to edit the image itself to have spacing on the left.  Same with the color - it's something just built into Flash directly and not in my control.

Picking a location - not a functionality available, sorry.
Logged
Ify
Member
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 4

« Reply #208 on: May 10, 2020, 07:47:45 AM »

Lol after 2 years later, I'm back lol
I have a problem. I just downloaded the game maker so I can play with the customizable features of the jeopardy game but this message pops up when I try and open the flash player to see the game "“GameshowMaker” needs to be updated.. The developer of this app needs to update it to work with this version of macOS(catalina). Contact the developer for more information." So apparently, it's running on 32 bit and my macOS can only read 64-bit apps. Is there anything I can so about this? Its weird because the older Jeopardy app works well. I only downloaded the game maker one so I could change the sound to the correct ding and not the false sound lol
Logged
pftq
Administrator
*****
Offline Offline



Posts: 4132

WWW
« Reply #209 on: May 10, 2020, 10:18:20 AM »

I find it strange that Mac can't run 32-bit apps.  Are you sure there's no setting you can change to allow it? Unfortunately I don't have a way recompile it for 64-bit, since Adobe no longer supports Flash.
Logged
Pages: 1 ... 12 13 [14] Print 
pftq Forums  |  Software and Scripts  |  Jeopardy / Gameshow Maker  |  Gameshow Maker - Discussion, Help, and Feedback « previous next »
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2006-2007, Simple Machines | RSS Feed Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.526 seconds with 21 queries.